Martirano Award

The Salvatore Martirano Memorial Composition Award

Martirano Award

The 28th Martirano Memorial Award


  • Applications open October 1
  • Deadline is April 15, 11:59 PM Central Time
  • Winners are announced in May.

Eligibility: Any composer, regardless of age or nationality is eligible. Previous winners, as well as faculty and currently enrolled students at the University of Illinois are ineligible for the award.

Awards: First Prize cash award of $1000, Second Prize cash award of $500, and Third Prize cash award of $350 plus a performance by the Illinois Modern Ensemble on the Annual Martirano Award Concert on the campus of the University of Illinois.

Judges: A panel of judges consisting of international composers and University of Illinois music composition faculty members will select the winning compositions.


  1. Medium:  Full scores of any style or aesthetic direction for 1-15 performers (all instruments and/or vocalists) may be submitted. Works for electronics and/or mixed media (including video), with or without instruments and voices, are eligible. Recordings of scores are encouraged but not required. The submitted composition may have already been performed, recorded and/or published. The winning composers will assume full responsibility for providing adequate performance materials at no cost to the award upon request.
  2. Duration: 20 minutes maximum.
  3. Limit: One entry per composer.
  4. Entry fee: A non-refundable entry fee of twenty US dollars (20.00 USD) is paid online before the composer can submit their music. After you submit your entry fee, you will receive a confirmation email with the link for submitting your score and recording. All major credit cards are accepted. The winners’ award fees, as well as the panelists’ fees, the concert and reception expenses, and those for the resulting concert recording, are funded entirely by the generosity of each composer’s $20 submission fee.
  5. Anonymous Submission:  The composer’s name must not appear on the score or in any accompanying materials submitted online. Only the pseudonym for the composer is to appear.
  6. The winning composers are invited to attend the award concert and reception and will be responsible for their transportation costs (the competition will provide lodging and some meals). The composers do not have to attend the award concert to be eligible for the award, but we do encourage their participation in the event. We hope that award winners will view this experience as a positive addition to their biographies and recording archives and come to the concert to forge new relationships with other professionals.

Submission Form

About Salvatore Martirano


Anna-Louise Walton, Basket of Figs for soprano, flute, and clarinet (First Prize 

Louis J. Goldford, Mauvaise Foi for soprano, chamber ensemble, and electronics (Second Prize 

Lina Tonia, Magna Carta Libertatum for chamber ensemble (Third Prize

2023 Jury  

Carlos R. Carrillo Cotto (Associate Professor, Composition-Theory Area and Co-Director, Illinois Modern Ensemble, University of Illinois)

Nickitas Demos (Professor and Coordinator of Composition Studies, Georgia State University and Artistic Director of the neoPhonia new music ensemble)

Ju-Ping Song (Pianist and Founder and Artistic Director of the NakedEye Ensemble) 

For questions please contact Associate Professor Carlos Carrillo

Past Winners

Cookie Settings