Illinois Young Composer Contest

The Illinois Young Composer Contest is now closed for 2022-2023. 

Illinois Young Composer Contest 2022-2023

  • 1st prize, Hannah Chen
  • 2nd prize, Evan Kessler
  • 3rd prize, Ricky Meyer
  • Honorable mention: Anika Radhakrishnan, Dash Wilson, Chia Ren Cher, & Charlie Meadows

Below are the criteria for the 2022-2023 contest.

This contest is open to high school composers of original music, in two categories:

  1. Electronic Music; Mp3 or mp4 files are accepted for all categories, but students are encouraged to submit musical scores
  2. Instrumental Concert Music

Electronic and/or recorded music: Scores are optional, recording required.

Instrumental Concert Music: Scores should include any combination of the following instruments: 2 violins, viola, cello, flute, oboe, clarinet, saxophone, horn, trumpet, trombone, tuba, piano, double bass, percussion.

Students can submit up to one entry to each category, but can only be selected as a winner in one category. Scores and recordings will be reviewed by the University of Illinois School of Music faculty members.


Instrumental Music

First Prize: $150
Second Prize: $100
Third Prize: $50

Electronic Music

First Prize: $150
Second Prize: $100
Third Prize: $50

Submission Information:

Complete the submission form below. Once you submit the form, you will receive an email with a link to upload your file(s). Be sure to include your name in the filenames for each submission.

Submission Form

The Submission form will close at 11:50 PM on December 31, 2022.

Questions? Email Prof. Carlos Carrillo

Cookie Settings