Illinois Flutists take the National Flute Association Convention by Storm

For the third time in four years, three University of Illinois Flutists have been selected as quarterfinalists for the United States most prestigious and competitive solo flute competition.

Harpist Noël Wan wins Lyon & Healy Award

Noël Wan is a winner of the 2019 Lyon & Healy Awards held in Chicago March 14-16.

UI Students Sweep in Vocal Competition

University of Illinois students swept the recent competition of the National Association of Teachers of Singing Chicago Chapter, the second largest in the nation!

Pictured are:

Alumnus Charles Lynch Joins Arizona State University Faculty

Dr. Charles W. Lynch III joins Arizona State University's Herberger Institute for Design and Arts School of Music faculty this year. Dr. Lynch also heads the Mesa Public Schools harp program as Harp Specialist.

Illinois Harpists Direct the Next Generation Into the Future via Public School Programs

Illinois harp program alumni Charles W. Lynch III and Molly O'Roark are leading and teaching at two of the largest secondary school harp programs in the nation. Dr.

Two Scholar-Performers Bring Global Perspectives to Musicology Faculty

The School of Music welcomes the addition of two new faculty members in Musicology, beginning in the fall of 2019. 

Linda R. Moorhouse Becomes President of American Bandmasters Association

Prof. Linda R. Moorhouse, Associate Director of the School of Music, has become President of the American Bandmasters Association, only the second woman to assume this exalted position since the ABA’s founding in 1929.

Quartets Coached by Members of Kronos

The Elara Quartet, consisting of UI music majors, and the East Central Illinois Youth Orchestra Honors Quartet were recently treated to a master class by members of the renowned Kronos Quartet. 

Janet Revell Barrett invested as Marilyn Pflederer Zimmerman Endowed Chair in Music

On Sunday, February 3, 2019 the University of Illinois Music Education community gathered to witness the formal investiture of Dr. Janet Revell Barrett as the Marilyn Pflederer Zimmerman Endowed Chair in Music.