Vocalists Earn Prizes at Central Regional NATS Competition

Twenty singers from the School of Music competed and earned awards in the Central Region National Association of Teachers of Singing (CRNATS). In total, over 1,200 vocalists representing schools of music from Illinois, Iowa, and Missouri, competed online on October 31 and November 1.

School of Music Prominently Featured in Grammy Awards Nominations

Nominations for the 63rd Grammy Awards include two alumni and one current student from the UI School of Music.

Jack Ranney

Remembering Jack Ranney

Jack served on the faculty and staff of the University of Illinois School of Music in many roles throughout his tenure beginning in 1980 until his retirement in 2005.

Dean Sanders

Remembering Dean Sanders

Dean Sanders, who passed away at the age of 91 on October 20, was a member of the piano faculty of the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign from 1957 to 1991, serving for most of that period as Chair of the Piano Division.  He studied with two of the great pianists of the twentieth century, Ru

SAI Chapter Earns Recognition

Sigma Alpha Iota, international music fraternity, awarded the University of Illinois's Sigma Delta chapter the Sigma Alpha Iota Region V Collegiate Chapter Achievement Award for 2019-2020.

School of Music Receives Gift Fund

The School of Music at the University of Illinois is pleased to announce a new gift fund to honor the memory of Nick Rudd that advances programming of the Robert E. Brown Center for World Music.

Iron Post Hosts Covid-Safe Livestream Performance

Giant steps are being taken by the University of Illinois to develop standards for Covid-safe indoor performance venues. 

Alumna Jenny Wong Named Associate Artistic Director of Los Angeles Master Chorale

Jenny Wong (BM Vocal Performance, '09), formerly assistant conductor of the Los Angeles Master Chorale (the resident chorus of Walt Disney Hall), has just been promoted to the newly created position of Associate Artistic Director.