Professors present at conference on Hip-Hop and the Schulwerk

Congratulations to Professors Pete Shungu, Adam Kruse, and Donna Gallo (L to R) on their “Hip-Hop and the Schulwerk” presentations this weekend for the American Orff-Schulwerk Association conference in Kansas City.

PhD student presents his research at Big 10 Academic Alliance annual conference

Evan Stoor is conducting two intrinsic studies during the 2022-2023 academic year. The purpose of the first study is to focus on the experiences of an international graduate student’s experience at the UIUC School of Music.

Bridget Sweet

Bridget Sweet to serve on International Music Teaching Commission

Bridget Sweet has been appointed to the International Society for Music Education (ISME) Instrumental and Vocal Music Teaching Commission, for which she will serve a four-year term.

Tomeka Reid

Tomeka Reid Named 2022 MacArthur Fellow

Tomeka Reid was named one of twenty five MacArthur Fellows for 2022.

Dawn Harris awarded Charles Nelson Reilly Prize in Stage Direction

Professor Dawn M. Harris, Voice and Lyric Theatre at Illinois, was awarded the top prize in the American Prize category of Stage Direction (College/University Division).

Jonathan Keeble to receive the National Flute Association Distinguished Service Award

Professor of Flute Jonathan Keeble recently named the National Flute Association's (NFA) 2023 Distinguished Service Award recipient. As only the 15th flutist to receive the award in the NFA's 50 year history, Dr.

Noël Wan wins the 2022 USA International Harp Competition

Noël Wan is the Gold Medalist of the 2022 USA International Harp Competition, one of the two most prestigious international harp competitions in the world and h

School of Music Welcomes Six New Faculty in Fall 2022

The School of Music at the University of Illinois is pleased to announce that six accomplished performers, teachers, and music educators will join its distinguished faculty in fall 2022.

Sal Martirano

Martirano Award Winners Announced

The winners of the 2022 Salvatore Martirano Memorial Composition Award have been announced. They are: 

Ollie Watts Davis

School of Music Celebrates Its 125th Anniversary with a Weekend of Special Concerts

The University of Illinois School of Music will celebrate its 125th anniversary from April 29 to May 1, 2022, with a weekend of special concerts that demonstrate the talent and range of its students, faculty, alumni, and community performers.