William Moersch Recognized for Lifetime Achievement

News Categories: 

William Moersch, Professor of Percussion, is a recipient of the 2020 Percussive Arts Society Lifetime Achievement Award in Education.

This Percussive Arts Society (PAS) award was established in 2002 and recognizes the contributions of the most highly regarded leaders in percussion education. For 2020, Prof. Moersch is recognized alongside F. Michael Combs and Russell Hartenberger.

A regularly featured artist at international percussion festivals, Prof. Moersch has performed on more than seventy-five recordings and is perhaps best known for commissioning much of the prominent modern repertoire for marimba, from composers including Irwin Bazelon, Richard Rodney Bennett, Martin Bresnick, Jacob Druckman, Eric Ewazen, David Lang, Paul Lansky, Libby Larsen, Steven Mackey, Akemi Naito, Roger Reynolds, Gunther Schuller, Joseph Schwantner, John Serry, Andrew Thomas, Alejandro Viñao, James Wood, and Charles Wuorinen.

Prof. Moersch was the first marimbist to receive a National Endowment for the Arts Solo Recitalist Fellowship and has also been honored by N.E.A. Recording and Consortium Commissioning grants.

On October 22, 2020, Prof. Moersch will join with his colleague Prof. Ricardo Flores to offer a one-hour Percussion Symposium for high school students as part of the School of Music Virtual Open House. 

Share this news