Linda Moorhouse to be President of American Bandmasters Association

News Categories: 

Prof. Linda Moorhouse has been elected Vice-President of the American Bandmasters Association (ABA). As Vice-President she will become President in 2019.

Founded in 1929, the ABA is a venerable group of elite band conductors to which one gains admission only through a strict vetting procedure whose standards are met only by those who have achieved the highest level of excellence in the profession over a sustained career. Within that group, to be elected to the Board of Directors and then to President falls only to the most respected members of those elite, and secures for the president-elect a high-profile place in American band history.

Since its founding, with John Philip Sousa as Honorary Life President, the group has elected numerous notable presidents, including several band conductors in UI’s historic program: A. A. Harding, Mark Hindsley, Harry Begian, Jim Keene, and Gary Smith. These are all major names in the field to this day, stretching back to the origins of the collegiate band movement here on campus under Harding’s direction.

Dr. Moorhouse currently serves as the Senior Associate Director of Bands and Associate Director for Undergraduate Affairs for the School of Music. She is also a national officer for the National Band Association.

Prof. Moorhouse will become only the second female to hold this post. Her election is both historic and in a long tradition of Illinois’s best.

Share this news