Alumnus Named Fulbright Scholar

The U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board recently awarded Justin Vickers (DMA '11) a Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program award to conduct research at University of Surrey, Guildford, in the United Kingdom.

Marching Illini

Marching Illini March Forth Campaign Exceeds All Expectations!

A huge THANK YOU to the MI Community! The Marching Illini raised over $37,000 in a one-day fundraising campaign; March Forth on March 4th.

Doctoral Student Co-Authors Jazz Textbook for Chinese Market

Lishan Xue, doctoral student in piano performance, has recently published

UI Choirs to be featured with Montreal Symphony in Carnegie Hall Performance

Members the UI Chamber Singers, Oratorio Society, and Varsity Men's Glee Club will join the Montreal Symphony for an historic performance at Carnegie Hall in March. Performing Shostakovich's Symphony No. 13.

Jazz Trombone Ensemble Wins Premier National Competition

The University of Illinois Jazz Trombone Ensemble (JTE), directed by Professor Jim Pugh, has once again won the prestigious American Trombone Workshop’s National Jazz Trombone Ensemble Competition. This is the fifth time they have been so honored (2012, 2014, 2017, 2018, 2020), and along with win

The Investiture of Nathan Gunn, Swanlund Chair

Nathan Gunn, Professor of Voice, was invested on January 27, 2020 as the newest Swanlund Professor. Along with the Stanley O. Ikenberry Endowed Chairs, the Swanlund Endowed Chairs are among the highest honors for professors on the U of I campus.

Sneak Peek at the New Hip-Hop Xpress

Viewers of WCIA-TV in Champaign were recently given a preview of the Double Dutch Book Bus Hip-Hop Xpress. 

Olivia Byrd and Sarah Wigley

LTI Makes a Splash in NYC

Students and faculty recently showcased their talents at the eighth annual Prototype Festival in New York.

Remembering Bruno Nettl

Update: a concert in honor of Professor Bruno Nettl has been scheduled for May 10, 2020 at 2:00 PM in the Great Hall. All are welcome.

Dear friends,

Prof. Bashford Awarded National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship

Christina Bashford, Associate Professor of Musicology, was awarded a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship for a project examining violin culture in Britain.

Read the full story...