RESEARCH LIVE! Finalists include Music Student

News Categories: 

The results are in!

After last week's preliminary round, our judging panels have selected thirteen Research Live! finalists. Watch them compete in the final round and vote for the People's Choice Award.

Gabriel Piqué will represent the School of Music presenting “The University of Illinois Saxophone Ensemble: Exploring Old Works in A New Format.”

Tuesday, October 23, 2018
4 - 6 p.m.
Krannert Center for the Performing Arts

Kelly Clary (Social Work) - “Creating Tailored Interventions for Emerging Adults with High Risk Substance Use Behaviors”
Parinaz Fathi (Bioengineering) - “3D-Printed Gastrointestinal Stents”
Hope Holland (Psychology) - “Everyday Experiences of Street Harassment: Death by Paper Cut, or No Big Deal?”
Belinda Pacheco Johnson (Chemistry) - “Lasers, Shockwaves, and the Initiation of Explosives”
Collin Kaufman (Neuroscience) - “Using Cells to Make a Walking Robot”
Junghwan Kim (Geography) - “Evaluating Public Transit Systems - From a User’s Perspective”
Aditya Kumar (Civil & Environmental Engineering) - “Enabling the Development of Next-Generation Materials”
Lee Ann Lyons (Pathobiology) - “Fighting the Uptick in Tick-Borne Disease”
Gabriel Piqué (Music) - “The University of Illinois Saxophone Ensemble: Exploring Old Works in A New Format”
Jennifer Leigh Sears Scheier (Theatre) - “From Bells to Headsets: The Untold History of the American Stage Manager”
Whitney Sinclair (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering) - “Inhale, Exhale”
|Dhawal Thakare (Mechanical Science & Engineering,) - “Self-Healing Coatings: The Future of Smart Materials”
Tim Yang (Kinesiology) - “On the Road to Self-Driving... Drivers?”

Ashlie Santaliz-Casiano, doctoral student in Nutritional Sciences

Laura Adamovicz, doctoral candidate in Comparative Biosciences and 2017 winner of Research Live!
Kate McDowell, associate professor at the School of Information Sciences
Isabel Molina-Guzmán, associate professor of Latina/Latino Studies and Media and Cinema Studies
Eric Schauber, director of the Prairie Research Institute’s Illinois Natural History Survey
John Wilkin, dean of Libraries
Steve Witmer, director of the News Bureau

Chip McNeill (professor of Music) - saxophone
Melinda Rodriguez (master’s student in Music) - vocals
Kurt Reeder (doctoral student in Music) - piano
Jon Small (doctoral student in Music) - bass
Kevin Cruze (senior student in Music) - drums

Share this news