Jazz Trombone Ensemble 2017

Jazz Trombone Ensemble Wins 2017 National Jazz Trombone Ensemble Competition

News Categories: 

The University of Illinois Jazz Trombone Ensemble has just been named the winner of the 2017 National Jazz Trombone Ensemble competition.  This prestigious and coveted Award is given annually by the American Trombone Workshop, sponsored by the US Army “Pershing’s Own” Band.  The Award will be presented at the group’s performance as part of the American Trombone Workshop at Brucker Hall, Ft. Myer, VA at 6pm EST (5pm CST) on Friday, March 10, 2017.  Their performance will be streamed live (feed available at the website listed below) and will also be available after the performance on the Workshop’s YouTube channel.

This will be the U of I Jazz Trombone Ensemble's third time winning this Award, having done so previously in 2012 and 2014.  They are the only Ensemble to have ever received this honor three times.

The members of the Ensemble are: Frank Niemeyer, David Fletcher, Sean Durkin, Ben Carrasquillo and Austin Seybert-trombones; Ryan Tomski-piano; Jose Guzman-guitar; Jonathan Small-bass; Tyler Shields-drums.  

The Ensemble is directed by Professor Jim Pugh

For additional information, visit:  http://www.usarmyband.com/trombone/

Share this news