Lucas Smith

Composition Student Commissioned by Choral Composer/Conductor Collective

News Categories: 

Lucas Marshall Smith, DMA student in Composition, has been selected by the Choral Composer/Conductor Collective (C4) of New York to compose a new work for chorus. 

Selected from a pool of 220 composers submiting 400 works, Smith was one of only three composers selected in this year's program. His work will be premiered in a pair of performances in Manhattan in June 2018.

The last round of judging, by C4's distinguished panel of James Bassi, Tarik O'Regan and Bruce Saylor, will take place in January 2018. They will determine the first, second and third place prize winners based on the newly composed works and cash prizes of $1,500, $1,000 and $600 respectively will be awarded at the June premiere.

C4 is made up of singers, conductors and composers performing exclusively the music of the past 25 years. Since 2006, C4 has produced 22 different programs representing over 100 different composers and over 100 premieres of new works.

Smith's music "endeavors to understand the human experience through the lenses of internal/external cognition, religion/spirituality, and tone/noise relationships." His one-act opera “A Psalm of Silence,” received its premiere at Krannert Performing Arts Center in March 2017 in collaboration with Lyric Theatre @ Illinois and the Illinois Modern Ensemble. His choral work “Lux Aeterna” also recently received an Honorable Mention from the 2016-17 American Prize competition.

Smith’s music has enjoyed both national and international performance.  Some of these performances include the Toronto International Electroacoustic Music Symposium (TIES), the International Electroacoustic Music Exhibition (MUSLAB), the RED NOTE New Music Festival, the Society of Composers, Incorporated Student National Conference (SCI), the Society for Electro-Acoustic Music in the United States National Conference (SEAMUS), the New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival (NYCEMF), the Electronic Music Midwest Conference (EMM), and the National Student Electronic Music Event (NSEME). Smith has also received premieres and commissions from numerous new music groups including the New York based ensemble loadbang, the Illinois Modern Ensemble, the Heartland Sings chorale, and ensemble mise-en. Smith’s music is recorded on the RMN Classical music label.

Smith holds degrees from Bowling Green State University (B.M. 2012) and the U of I (M.M. 2014) and is currently pursuing his Doctorate of Musical Arts at the University of Illinois where he studies composition with Reynold Tharp and works as the Operations Assistant for the Experimental Music Studios under the direction of Eli Fieldsteel. Some of his former composition teachers have included Burton Beerman, Carlos Carrillo, Christopher Dietz, Erin Gee, Marilyn Shrude, Stephen Taylor, and electroacoustic studies with Elainie Lillios and Scott A. Wyatt.  

Share this news