GUEST RECITAL - Fuego Saxophone Quartet

23 Oct 2017 - 7:30pm

Fuego Quartet: Nicki Roman, soprano saxophone, Erik Elmgren, alto saxophone, Harrison Clarke, tenor saxophone, Gabriel Piqué, baritone saxophone

Founded in 2015, Fuego Quartet is an award-winning chamber group devoted to the performance of both standard and contemporary works written for the saxophone. Most recently, they were awarded the Gold Medal of the 2017 Fischoff Chamber Music Competition, 1st place in Brass, Winds and Percussion at the Plowman Chamber Music Competition and 2nd Place in the 2017 National MTNA Chamber Music Competition. Additional awards include first prize in the 198th Army Band College Chamber Competition, the 2016 New York State MTNA Chamber Competition, and the 2016 Eastern Regional MTNA Chamber Competition. They were semi-finalists in the 2016 North American Saxophone Alliance Quartet Competition and have also been selected as winners in the 2015 Honors Chamber Music Competition at the Eastman School of Music. Fuego has been featured in a variety of settings from standard concert hall venues to community outreach concerts. They have been featured artists at the Strong National Museum of Play, The George Eastman Museum, Dorris Carlson Reading Garden, Phillis Wheatley Library, Susan B. Anthony Museum, Washington Square Concert Series, OSSIA Presents and [Col][lab] and have presented recitals and masterclasses at Nazareth College and Frostburg State University. Members hold degrees from the Eastman School of Music, Indiana University, University of Illinois and University of Georgia.



Italian Concerto BWV 971 (1735) | J.S Bach (1685-1750) arr. Dannel Espinoza
   I. Allegro                                                                                            
   II. Andante                                                                                        
   III. Presto

Fantasy Etudes (1992) | William Albright (1944-1998)
   II. Pypes
   IV. Phantom Galop
   VI. They only come out at night

Nuages (1946) | Eugene Bozza (1905-1991)


Sechs Bagatellen (1953) | György Ligeti (1923-2006)
   I. Allegro con spirito
   II. Rubato. Lamentoso
   III. Allegro grazioso
   IV. Presto ruvido

Recitation Book (2006) | David Maslanka (1943-2017)

   I. Broken Heart: Meditation on the chorale melody Der du bist drei in einigkeit 
   V. Fanfare/Variations on the chorale melody Durch Adams Fall 

Michelangelo 70 (1969) | Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992) arr. Jon Wintringham